Tennis pro serves up pic of bad French Open line call
Racket-smashing made obsolete by smartphones and Twitter
Tennis professional Sergiy Stakhovsky has taken a smartphone onto the court at the French Open to photograph the spot where a ball landed, in order to produce evidence an umpire made the wrong call.
The incident reportedly took place during the first set of the 101st-ranked male player's first-round loss to French opponent Richard Gasquet.
Stakhovsky reached for his mobe in an attempt to retrieve a point after the umpire called one of his shots out.
Stakhovsky later emitted the Tweet below.
Well..here what you asked for ... twitter.com/Stako_tennis/s…— Sergiy Stakhovsky (@Stako_tennis) May 27, 2013
The umpire warned Stakhovsky for using his phone and ignored the photographic evidence. As seems proper: if you can see a ball mark in the shot above you've better eyes than we at Vulture South.
Stakhovsky lost the match in straight sets, 6-1, 6-4, 6-3, but may have won the internet. ®