Nvidia Pascal GTX launch

Unless Nvidia has a massive last-minute change of heart, it will tonight unveil a couple of Pascal-powered GTX cards for gamers.

Pascal is Nv's latest GPU design: word of it emerged in 2014, it finally arrived last month, and you can find deep dives into how it works and why here, and over here.

So far Pascal has emerged in the Tesla P100, a data center-grade chip for accelerating artificial intelligence software and supercomputer applications.

Nvidia is going to announce at 6pm Pacific Time (9pm US East Coast, 1am UTC) Pascal-based GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070 graphics cards for gamers and home users who want to add some extra kick to their rigs. The cards' 16nm FinFET Pascal processors will be coupled to 8GB of GDDR5 RAM, and output to three DisplayPort, one HDMI 2.0 and one DVI interfaces.

You can watch the launch live here, hosted by Twitch. ®

Updated to add

We were right.

Sponsored: The Joy and Pain of Buying IT - Have Your Say


Biting the hand that feeds IT © 1998–2017