Original URL: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/09/16/lohan_test_flight/

LOHAN test flight LIVE: All the launch action

Balloon launch and pursuit for your viewing pleasure

By Lester Haines

Posted in SPB, 16th September 2013 10:36 GMT

As you read this, the Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator (LOHAN) team is preparing the test flight of our all-new custom rocket motor igniter.

We need to know once and for all if we can get a rocket motor to ignite at altitude, following our first pop back in July.

That ended with the igniter's E-Match going bang, but with the Plastic Igniter Cord (PIC) failing to burn.

So, we've rethought the igniter design, and are poised to send it aloft.

Here's the LOHAN team yesterday, preparing for lift-off:

The LOHAN team poses with the Vulture 2

We've got four trackers for your, er, tracking pleasure, as follows:

CHAV will be 300 baud 8 data bits, no parity, 2 stop bits. All the others will be 50 baud, 7 data bits, 2 stop bits.

From around 14.00 UK time (13.00 GMT, 9.00 Eastern, 6.00 Pacific, 15.00 CEST), you can follow the launch and pursuit action live right here, and follow us on Twitter here.

There will be live snaps beamed from the onboard Raspberry Picam here, plus the usual live map here.

So, stick the kettle on and prepare to enjoy the show. ®


Further LOHAN resources:

LOHAN - A Special Projects Bureau production in association with...

  • 3T RPD logo
  • University of Southampton logo
  • Applied Vacuum Engineering logo
  • Escher Technologies
  • Flashpoint Fireworks logo
  • HAB Supplies logo
  • Rock 7 logo

Paper Aircraft Released Into Space