Original URL: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02/26/green_computing_debate_agenda/

The Register Green Computing Debate is Go

Live & Online - February 27 - check out the running order

By Team Register

Posted in Science, 26th February 2008 20:28 GMT

The Register Green Computing Debate
Live & Online - Now!

It's free, it's easy, it's The Register Debate on Green Computing, and it's live right now, right here! Cast your eyes onwards and downwards for the running order:

Calendar Opening Remarks by Ashlee Vance

Presenter: Ashlee Vance, US editor, The Register
Time: 10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm GMT / 7pm CET

El Reg logo Our host Ashlee Vance runs through the key Green Computing news events of the last year and gives you his take on the market. Ashlee will introduce the speakers and co-host the Q&A. 10 minute Presentation

Calendar Reader Research Keynote

Presenter: Dale Vile, managing director, Freeform Dynamics
Time: 10:10am PST / 1:10pm EST / 6:10pm GMT / 7:10pm CET

Freeform Dynamics This is the reality of Green Computing - according to the thousands of IT professionals polled. Register readers shed light on the Green challenges they face in their organisations and pose some new ones as they give us the low-down on their companies' Green priorities. 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar Power in Perspective

Presenter: Albert Esser, Vice President of Power & Cooling Infrastructure, Dell Inc
Time: 10:40am PST / 1:40pm EST / 6:40pm GMT / 7:40pm CET

Dell Where are we with power? How efficient is the average data centre, server or desktop? Can we really make a significant environmental impact by optimizing the power usage of our IT infrastructures - what are the stats? Good power management has other benefits in terms of cost savings, cooler running, being able to pack more kit into data centers, etc. This topic is all about the overall business case for power management from both an environmental and commercial impact perspective. 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar Disposal and Recycling

Presenter: Louise Richards, CEO of Computer Aid International
Time: 11:10am PST / 2:10pm EST / 7:10pm GMT / 8:10pm CET

Computer Aid International After failing to embrace the PC recycling issue for years, most of the major IT equipment manufacturers makers now have well-rounded recycling programs in place. But what are the obligations likely to be on customers as we look to the future? And in light of this, what should organizations be looking for when evaluating suppliers or potential suppliers to ensure maximum greenness , but also to make sure they are not saddled with disposal costs and issues down the line? 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar Processors

Presenter: Kevin O'Donovan, strategic marketing manager, Intel EMEA
Time: 11:40am PST / 2:40pm EST / 7:40pm GMT / 8:40pm CET

Intel Having dealt with the "why?" of power management, this topic starts to home in on the "how?", beginning with the components. A new wave of more energy-efficient processors has arrived, spanning the laptop to the server room. In the mainstream market, Intel and AMD are battling it out to claim "the greenest chip maker" crown. We also have companies such as Sun working on radical, energy efficient designs. Since the power consumption issue starts with the processor, let's have a look at just how far we've come over the past couple of years. 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar The Lifecycle View

Presenter: David Tebbutt, program director, Freeform Dynamics
Time: 12:10pm PST / 3:10pm EST / 8:10pm GMT / 9:10pm CET

Freeform Dynamics Replacing a piece of old kit with the latest power efficient alternative, may seem like a 'green' thing to do, but when you take into account the environment impact of the manufacture, delivery and installation of the new equipment, together with the impact of disposing of the discarded kit, is it really the right thing to do in either environmental and cost terms? Where can organizations get the data to support such decisions and what are the calculations that need to done? 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar Virtualization - Reducing the Energy Footprint in Data Centers

Presenter: Winston Bumpus, director of standards architecture, VMware
Time: 12:40pm PST / 3:40pm EST / 8:40pm GMT / 9:40pm CET

VMWare Virtualization software is so hot that it's cool. Analysts and vendors think you can consolidate a number of applications on a single physical server without suffering a huge increase in power consumption. This is a result of servers chewing through lots of power even when they're under utilized. We'll have a look at just how big these power savings may be. 15 minute Presentation with a 15 minute Q&A

Calendar Roundtable

Presenters: Ashlee Vance, The Register - plus all Speakers
Time: 1:10pm PST / 4:10pm EST / 9:10pm GMT / 10:10pm CET

El Reg logo Ashlee Vance chairs a roundtable discussion with all the presenters. Debate attendees have the opportunity to grill the panel - yes it's interactive. As long as it takes