Original URL: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02/18/total_lunar_eclipse/

Total lunar eclipse: look skywards Wednesday

Last blood-red Moon until 2010

By Lester Haines

Posted in Science, 18th February 2008 14:32 GMT

Aficionados of blood-red Moons will, weather permitting, on Wednesday/Thursday be able to enjoy the last total lunar eclipse until 2010.

According to NASA, the event should be visible "from South America and most of North America (on 20 February) as well as Western Europe, Africa, and western Asia (21 February). Partial eclipse kicks off at 8.43pm EST on Wednesday (1.43am GMT Thursday), with total eclipse beginning at 10.01pm EST (3.01am GMT) and wowing the crowds for about 50 minutes.

The eclipse ends at 12.09am EST (5.09am GMT) on Thursday. NASA has a schedule for other timezones here. ®