Original URL: https://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02/05/turing_prize_model/

Model checkers get Turing Prize

Medals and money...

By John Oates

Posted in Science, 5th February 2008 10:09 GMT

The Association of Computing Machinery has awarded the $250,000 A.M Turing Prize to three men who created an automated way to find design errors in hardware or software.

The prize is shared between Edmund Clarke (Carnegie Mellon), E Allen Emerson (University of Texas at Austin) and Joseph Sifakis (University of Grenoble).

Often described as the Nobel prize for computing, the Turing prize got a boost in sponsorship last year from Google.

Model checking is a process of checking for mistakes by expressing a system as a logic formula. It was used to check the PCI bus specifications.

More here. ®