Facebook video scam

A new Facebook scam campaign has been discovered that spreads a malicious browser plugin via social engineering techniques.

The attack starts by luring a Facebook user into playing a video, most often titled “My first video”, “My video” or “Private video”. After clicking on the link, the victim is directed to a fake YouTube website where, instead of downloading and playing the video, that prospective mark is directed to install a browser extension. Screenshots of the scam - which has already claims thousands of victims - in action and more can be found in ESET’s blog post here. ®

Sponsored: Minds Mastering Machines - Call for papers now open




Biting the hand that feeds IT © 1998–2018