Related topics

Got VDI questions? Fire them at our expert panel

VDI in the real world – the no mercy edition

The Black Knight

Webinar The Register is hosting a webinar about VDI in the real world at 11am Pacific (7pm BST, 2pm Eastern) on 11 June. Unsure what it takes to make VDI go? Have questions, or just want to get more up to date? This is your chance!

VDI deployments are undertaken with great fanfare and hype, but never seem to deliver on the promise. Somewhere beyond the marketing slides is the cold reality of designing, sourcing and implementing the cutting-edge technologies that make up a modern VDI experience.

The Register knows that our readers are sick of hype and broken promises. Following up on last month's VDI feature, we've assembled a panel of experts to discuss the topic. What does it take to make VDI work in the real world? What challenges will you face and what corners can you absolutely, under no circumstances, never cut?

Our VDI panelists are diverse. We have Eric Wright (@discoposse) as our independent Analyst. Adam Carter (@adambomb00) from LoginVSI, Will Wade (@nvWillWade) from nVidia, Seth Knox (@seth_knox) from Atlantis Computing and Scott Shadley (@SMShadley) from Micron.

The format for this webinar will be fairly typical of such events. Yours truly will act as host for the event and ask a few pre-canned questions of the panelists. Each will be given a chance to speak and there will be room for open discussion amongst them.

Throughout the event, all attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions in chat; we'll pick the best questions out and ask the panelists. Similar questions will be coalesced into one.

The panelists will be shown no mercy and given no quarter. This is your chance, dear reader, to put the tough questions to some of the best VDI minds on the planet. Join us on 11 June and put those nagging questions about VDI to rest. ®

Sponsored: Designing and building an open ITOA architecture