Feeds

LOHAN test flight LIVE: All the launch action

Balloon launch and pursuit for your viewing pleasure

  • alert
  • submit to reddit

5 things you didn’t know about cloud backup

As you read this, the Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator (LOHAN) team is preparing the test flight of our all-new custom rocket motor igniter.

We need to know once and for all if we can get a rocket motor to ignite at altitude, following our first pop back in July.

That ended with the igniter's E-Match going bang, but with the Plastic Igniter Cord (PIC) failing to burn.

So, we've rethought the igniter design, and are poised to send it aloft.

Here's the LOHAN team yesterday, preparing for lift-off:

The LOHAN team poses with the Vulture 2

We've got four trackers for your, er, tracking pleasure, as follows:

  • CHAV on 434.075MHz
  • BUZZ on 434.200MHz
  • SPEARS on 434.650MHz
  • ZURG on 434.250MHz

CHAV will be 300 baud 8 data bits, no parity, 2 stop bits. All the others will be 50 baud, 7 data bits, 2 stop bits.

From around 14.00 UK time (13.00 GMT, 9.00 Eastern, 6.00 Pacific, 15.00 CEST), you can follow the launch and pursuit action live right here, and follow us on Twitter here.

There will be live snaps beamed from the onboard Raspberry Picam here, plus the usual live map here.

So, stick the kettle on and prepare to enjoy the show. ®


Further LOHAN resources:

  • New to LOHAN? Try this mission summary for enlightenment.
  • You can find full LOHAN coverage right here.
  • Join the expert LOHAN debate down at Reg forums.
  • All the LOHAN and Paper Aircraft Released Into Space (PARIS) vids live on YouTube.
  • For our SPB photo archive, proceed directly to Flickr.
  • We sometimes indulge in light consensual tweeting, as you can see here.

LOHAN - A Special Projects Bureau production in association with...

  • 3T RPD logo
  • University of Southampton logo
  • Applied Vacuum Engineering logo
  • Escher Technologies
  • Flashpoint Fireworks logo
  • HAB Supplies logo
  • Rock 7 logo

Paper Aircraft Released Into Space

Secure remote control for conventional and virtual desktops

More from The Register

next story
Boffins attempt to prove the UNIVERSE IS JUST A HOLOGRAM
Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?
Our LOHAN spaceplane ballocket Kickstarter climbs through £8000
Through 25 per cent but more is needed: Get your UNIQUE rewards!
Software bug caught Galileo sats in landslide, no escape from reality
Life had just begun, code error means Russia's gone and thrown it all away
LOHAN tunes into ultra long range radio
And verily, Vultures shall speak status unto distant receivers
SpaceX prototype rocket EXPLODES over Texas. 'Tricky' biz, says Elon Musk
No injuries or near injuries. Flight stayed in designated area
Galileo, Galileo! Galileo, Galileo! Galileo fit to go. Magnifico
I'm just a poor boy, nobody loves me. But at least I can find my way with ESA GPS by 2017
EOS, Lockheed to track space junk from Oz
WA facility gets laser-eyes out of the fog
prev story

Whitepapers

Gartner critical capabilities for enterprise endpoint backup
Learn why inSync received the highest overall rating from Druva and is the top choice for the mobile workforce.
Implementing global e-invoicing with guaranteed legal certainty
Explaining the role local tax compliance plays in successful supply chain management and e-business and how leading global brands are addressing this.
Rethinking backup and recovery in the modern data center
Combining intelligence, operational analytics, and automation to enable efficient, data-driven IT organizations using the HP ABR approach.
Consolidation: The Foundation for IT Business Transformation
In this whitepaper learn how effective consolidation of IT and business resources can enable multiple, meaningful business benefits.
Next gen security for virtualised datacentres
Legacy security solutions are inefficient due to the architectural differences between physical and virtual environments.