Related topics
  • ,
  • ,
  • ,

Reg careers live chat: Upgrade or go home with Dominic Connor

Readers asked their questions on 1.30pm, 23 May

Live Chat Are you looking to switch jobs, skill-up or go back to college? Have a browse of The Register’s Careers’ Live Chat now.

City headhunter and Reg contributor Dominic Connor and the Reg’s group editor Joe Fay hosted an hour's worth of career-enhancing discussion to help your next steps.

We threw open the doors at 1.30pm to allow readers to quiz Dominic.

Dominic has been provoking guiding Reg readers into improving their careers for the last couple of years, prompting comments ranging from the tearfully grateful to the artery-busting. But this will be the first time Reg fans have been able to interactively probe the straight-shooting Mr Connor on whether they need to set their sights higher, or face facts and go home. For good.

He sounds a harsh man, but Dominic has worked as a contractor and hired contractors, so he feels your pain and knows its source.

Dominic and Joe also discussed whether there really is a skills shortage in the UK, suggested which sectors will be the most lucrative in the future, talking the most profitable and future-proofed languages, tools and platforms, and considering how and when is the best time to sign off.

That’s unless there’s anything else you want to talk about.

It's your choice - and your career; kick-off is 2pm BST*, 9am Eastern, or 6am Pacific.®

Sponsored: 5 critical considerations for enterprise cloud backup