The Register® — Biting the hand that feeds IT

Feeds

Crooks inject malicious Java applet into FOREX trading website

VXers wouldn't give a XXXX for anything else

Regcast training : Hyper-V 3.0, VM high availability and disaster recovery

A FOREX trading website has been contaminated with a malicious Java applet that is designed to install malware on the systems of visiting surfers.

The targeted website is a popular FOREX (foreign exchange market) website called "Trading Forex" (tradingforex.com). The website remains contaminated as of Thursday lunchtime according to Websense, the web security firm that detected the attack.

The Java applet planted on the website attempts to install a malicious executable written in Visual Basic.Net and requires the Microsoft's .NET framework to be successfully installed and running on a victim's computer. This is an unusual approach.

Hackers intent on distributing malware through compromised websites often use pre-packaged tools, available through underground forums, most notably the widely used Blackhole Exploit kit.

Elad Sharf, senior security researcher at Websense, said it is unclear why the FOREX VXers have taken a different line of attack, although he has a few theories.

"We can only speculate why. One of the likely reasons is that the ‘Blackhole exploit kit’ costs money either to rent or to buy," Sharf told El Reg. "On the other hand, the attack vector that was used on that website can be created with tools that are available for free.

"It’s important to note that there was no exploit involved in this attack but rather a social engineering trick that requires the victim’s involvement - if successful it will allow a backdoor Trojan to run on the victim’s machine," he added.

Carl Leonard, senior security research manager EMEA at Websense, added. "This injection could deposit malware to the users of this site, possibly opening them up to data stealing. We're also seeing typosquatting being used here, perhaps ready for a future attack." ®

Agentless Backup is Not a Myth

For a moment

I thought they had hacked the FourEcks trading site (operated from Didjabringabeeralong no doubt (or was that Bugarup))

2
0

Re: For a moment

No worries, mate, she'll be alright...

1
0

apache on win32

The first time I see "Apache(Win32)" in the webserver's token. The question is how did the website get compromised.?

It identifies itself as "Apache/2.2.22 (Win32) PHP/5.4.5" .So one would only guess poorly designed php scripts, or the good ol' malware friendly Microsoft OS (0-day?), or that the hacker is a part time admin of the said website, or the use of "passw0rd" as the strong admin password. Could it be all four?

0
0

More from The Register

 breaking news
Number of cops abusing Police National Computer access on the rise
Only a telegram from the Queen can get you off it
 breaking news
NSA PRISM snoop-gate: Won't someone think of the children, wails Apple
10,000 things probed, mostly about missing kids, Alzheimer patients, we're told
 breaking news
NSA PRISM-gate: Relax, GCHQ spooks 'keep us safe', says Cameron
Whatever they are up to, it's all above board, we're told
PRISM snitch claims NSA hacked Chinese targets since 2009
Snowden suddenly looks safer in Hong Kong after revelations
 breaking news
US chief spook: Look, we only want to spy on 6.66 BEELLLION of you
Americans assured they are not in the NSA's sights
Flash flaw potentially makes every webcam or laptop a PEEPHOLE
But it's a Google problem - Chrome only, insists Adobe
Speech-to-text drives motorists to distraction
Will talking to you mean I crash into that car up ahead, Siri?
DHS warns of vulns in hospital medical equipment
Has your doctor's anasthesia machine been hacked?
 breaking news
'BadNews is malware' says outfit that found it
Google says code harmless but Lookout says code base is evolving
Panda-peddlers cuffed for chess gambling gambit
More porridge on the menu for Chinese coders after second offence