Feeds

SpaceX test-fires Falcon 9 rocket as Dragon sleeps

Launch rescheduling confirmed for 7 May

5 things you didn’t know about cloud backup

NASA and SpaceX have confirmed that the new launch date for the blastoff of the Dragon cargo capsule to the International Space Station will be 7 May.

Artist's impression of the Dragon at the ISS

Liftoff was supposed to happen today, after it was supposed to happen on February 7, after it was expected before the end of last year.

The Falcon 9 rocket will now boost the Dragon into orbit on 7 May at 9.38am EDT (13.35 GMT/14.35 BST).

During the flight, the craft will have to test and prove its ability to rendezvous and berth with the ISS before it'll be allowed to actually give it a shot. This newest delay, according to SpaceX founder Elon Musk, was to do more testing on that docking code.

The Dragon has already proved it can take off and land, but the software required to get the craft to pull in alongside the fast-moving ISS and dock with it is tricky stuff.

Instead of the launch, SpaceX is using today to do a static fire test, which it will be webcasting from 14.30 EDT (18.30 GMT/19.30 BST), with the actual blast scheduled for 15.00 EDT (19.00 GMT/20.00 BST). This is a rehearsal for the actual launch and will be counted down by engineers just like the real thing.

SpaceX said again today that the 7 May launch would be the first attempt by a commercial firm to send a spacecraft to the ISS, so there was no guarantee it would run smoothly.

"Success is not guaranteed. If any aspect of the mission is not successful, SpaceX will learn from the experience and try again," the company said in a canned statement. ®

Build a business case: developing custom apps

More from The Register

next story
Boffins ID freakish spine-smothered prehistoric critter: The CLAW gave it away
Bizarre-looking creature actually related to velvet worms
ANU boffins demo 'tractor beam' in water
The current state of the art, apparently
China to test recoverable moon orbiter
I'll have some rocks and a moon cheese pizza please, home delivery
NASA's rock'n'roll shock: ROLLING STONE FOUND ON MARS
No sign of Ziggy Stardust and his band
What does a flashmob of 1,024 robots look like? Just like this
Sorry, Harvard, did you say kilobots or KILLER BOTS?
Why your mum was WRONG about whiffy tattooed people
They're a future source of RENEWABLE ENERGY
Vulture 2 spaceplane autopilot brain surgery a total success
LOHAN slips into some sexy bespoke mission parameters
Another step forward for diamond-based quantum computers
Square cut or pear-shaped, these qubits don't lose their shape
LOHAN acquires aircraft arboreal avoidance algorithm acronyms
Is that an ARMADILLO in your PANTS or are you just pleased to see me?
prev story

Whitepapers

Endpoint data privacy in the cloud is easier than you think
Innovations in encryption and storage resolve issues of data privacy and key requirements for companies to look for in a solution.
Implementing global e-invoicing with guaranteed legal certainty
Explaining the role local tax compliance plays in successful supply chain management and e-business and how leading global brands are addressing this.
Top 8 considerations to enable and simplify mobility
In this whitepaper learn how to successfully add mobile capabilities simply and cost effectively.
Solving today's distributed Big Data backup challenges
Enable IT efficiency and allow a firm to access and reuse corporate information for competitive advantage, ultimately changing business outcomes.
Reg Reader Research: SaaS based Email and Office Productivity Tools
Read this Reg reader report which provides advice and guidance for SMBs towards the use of SaaS based email and Office productivity tools.