The Register® — Biting the hand that feeds IT

Feeds

Phishers go after your Google AdWords account

Clone website slurps Chocolate logins

Agentless Backup is Not a Myth

Cybercrooks have launched a "Google AdWords" phishing campaign in an attempt to trick marks into handing over sensitive login credentials to a bogus, newly registered, website.

Spam messages promoting the ruse falsely claim that a recipient's campaign has been stopped and they need to login to their "Adwords account" in order to reactivate it. The widely distributed spam messages link to a realistic replica of the Google AdWords page, net security firm Sophos warns.

The dodgy site – google-oa.net – was only registered this week.

Google AdWords accounts normally use the same login credentials as other associated Google accounts (Gmail, Google Docs etc). It could be that the fraudsters behind the scam are just as interested in these accounts as in compromised access to Google AdWords accounts, though this much remains unclear.

The whole scheme further illustrates that phishing fraudsters are going after a wider range of targets outside of old favourites such as PayPal and online banking accounts. Phishing fraudsters in Brazil, for example, have begun targeting air miles accounts, trading stolen vouchers as a form of currency in exchange for renting access to botnets via underground markets.

Intended victims of the air miles or Google AdWords scams might be less aware of the risk and therefore more likely to respond to fraudulent emails, perhaps. ®

Steps to Take Before Choosing a Business Continuity Partner

What are you suggesting?

"....Google AdWords scams might be less aware of the risk and therefore more likely to respond to fraudulent emails, perhaps"

Are you saying people such as Marketing driods may be a bit gullable? Never! Besides, Mac's can't get infected by Phising scams.

2
0

Whom?

As to whom do you expect to stop routing this domain?

The cyber police, I'm sorry to tell you this but there isn't one.

0
0

The dodgy site – google-oa.net ...

... still resolves as a valid domain.

That surely is the biggest part of the problem. A domain is known to have been registered for a fraudulent purpose, yet it still resolves and continues to direct traffic to the known-fraudulent site.

Moreover, in this case it would have taken only a cursory glance once reported at the domain name to conclude that something clearly intended to look like a google site but not having been registered by google was indeed an intentionally fraudulent registration.

0
0

More from The Register

 breaking news
Number of cops abusing Police National Computer access on the rise
Only a telegram from the Queen can get you off it
 breaking news
NSA PRISM snoop-gate: Won't someone think of the children, wails Apple
10,000 things probed, mostly about missing kids, Alzheimer patients, we're told
Flash flaw potentially makes every webcam or laptop a PEEPHOLE
But it's a Google problem - Chrome only, insists Adobe
Internet fraud still stings suckers
Australians twice as gullible as Americans
 breaking news
NSA PRISM-gate: Relax, GCHQ spooks 'keep us safe', says Cameron
Whatever they are up to, it's all above board, we're told
 breaking news
Yahoo! joins! rivals! in! PRISM! data! request! admission!
Keep calm and carry on using American tech firms, folks
PRISM snitch claims NSA hacked Chinese targets since 2009
Snowden suddenly looks safer in Hong Kong after revelations
 breaking news
US chief spook: Look, we only want to spy on 6.66 BEELLLION of you
Americans assured they are not in the NSA's sights
Speech-to-text drives motorists to distraction
Will talking to you mean I crash into that car up ahead, Siri?
DHS warns of vulns in hospital medical equipment
Has your doctor's anasthesia machine been hacked?