Related topics

How to design and build a supercomputer

Ever wondered what it takes?

SC10 Webcast What does it take to design and build a supercomputer big enough to enter the Top500list?

We're beaming live from the SC10 show today, the 16th of November, at 9:30 PST / 12:30 EST / 17:30 GMT, with some people that will tell you exactly what it takes.

Supercomputers don't come off the peg, not when you're gunning for the Top500 list. They start with a glint in the eye of someone with some big numbers to crunch - leading to a customer looking for power that requires technology that may not have been invented yet.

Today we're talking to NERSC, (US National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center), who buy supercomputers, as well as AMD and Cray about how they design, build and fund these massive systems.

We'll find out how they attempt to conform to energy, facility and budget limitations whilst committing to milestones that challenge some of the brightest brains in the industry.

We will talk to representatives from NERSC, Cray and AMD to understand the process and learn the ins and outs of large-scale HPC. It’s a fascinating topic and well worth the time.

The event is live, and free, so if you come along with any questions you may have, we’ll do our best to get them answered during the one-hour event. You can register right here. ®

Sponsored: Designing and building an open ITOA architecture