Feeds

Microsoft rushes out emergency Windows update

Critical flaw clocked

Security for virtualized datacentres

Microsoft is about to issue an emergency security update to plug a vulnerability which could allow an internet worm to be spread via a computer without the user doing anything.

The update is rated as critical for users of Windows 2000, XP and Server 2003 and the less severe rating of "important" for users of Windows Server 2008 and Windows Vista. The patch is scheduled for 10.00am Pacific Time (6pm BST).

There will be a webcast at 1.00pm Pacific Time (9pm BST) explaining the issue in more detail.

The exploit potentially allows remote code to be executed.

The Advance Notification is here.

Microsoft tries to make life easier for administrators by bundling its updates into one monthly slot, known as Patch Tuesday, in the second week of every month. It has broken this cycle before, but it is unusual. ®

Secure remote control for conventional and virtual desktops

Whitepapers

Forging a new future with identity relationship management
Learn about ForgeRock's next generation IRM platform and how it is designed to empower CEOS's and enterprises to engage with consumers.
Why cloud backup?
Combining the latest advancements in disk-based backup with secure, integrated, cloud technologies offer organizations fast and assured recovery of their critical enterprise data.
Win a year’s supply of chocolate
There is no techie angle to this competition so we're not going to pretend there is, but everyone loves chocolate so who cares.
High Performance for All
While HPC is not new, it has traditionally been seen as a specialist area – is it now geared up to meet more mainstream requirements?
Intelligent flash storage arrays
Tegile Intelligent Storage Arrays with IntelliFlash helps IT boost storage utilization and effciency while delivering unmatched storage savings and performance.