El Reg goes virtual with e-Symposium on virtualization

VMware impressed

Site News Upon discovering a respirator at his father's retirement home, Homer Simpson let out a natural reaction. "And here I am using my own lungs like a sucker."

This message - oddly enough - carries over to the world of virtualization software where many of you have been using your own legs like suckers to attend meetings and trade shows that discuss the technology.

On 6 November The Register will take the sucker out of virtualization and out of you with our first ever e-Symposium - an online, live event that can be enjoyed from the comfort of your desk chair.

The event will see your reporter team with our analyst chums over at Freeform Dynamics to reveal the state of virtualization technology. We'll present data obtained through industry surveys and information supplied by our very own Reg readers, detailing what you actually care about in the virtualization game.

A couple of top product gurus from VMware will join as well to discuss how customers can manage middleware sprawl in a virtualized environment and the pros and cons behind desktop virtualization.

Finally, we'll close out the event with a virtual roundtable where you can chime in with your questions and concerns via some fancy software supplied by BrightTalk. I'll be sure to throw the best questions at the analyst and vendor participants.

With your help and our biting wit, we'll get to the bottom of this virtualization thing and get a stronger feel for what's hype and what's reality in the hottest part of the software market.

Please join us on 6 November at 8:30 am (PST), 11.30 am (EST), 4.30 pm (GMT) for this first of its kind, groundbreaking, lung and leg-saving event hosted by The Register, VMware and Intel.

Sign up here, and check out the program here. ®

Sponsored: Designing and building an open ITOA architecture