The Register® — Biting the hand that feeds IT

Harry Potter URL backlash begins

The Internet community has its say

Increase your knowledge of the latest threats to your busines

Following Warner Bros unjustifiable persecution of children who happen to register Harry Potter domain names because they are fans of the books, a few souls have taken it upon themselves to make their feelings known.

As we mentioned previously, Alastair Alexander has set up www.potterwar.org.uk to highlight the conglomerate's bullying. Some have taken it a little further, however.

Fuckoffwarnerbrothers.thisisnotaharrypottersite.org, for example. This is run by a collective of students that calls itself mimezine and exists to "fullfill [sic] a group of people's desires to learn, share and communicate". Unfortunately, it doesn't actually go into any detail about Warner Bros or Harry Potter, so presumably we are to pick the subtlety of the URL :-).

And then there's www.harrypotter-warnercansuemyarse.co.uk, which redirects to http://indifference.homeip.net. This is the site of an obviously angry man. Again, his fury doesn't take in Warner or Harry Potter but is instead aimed at Windows 2000, RealJukebox and NTL.

We welcome any additions to the list. ®

Increase your knowledge of the latest threats to your busines

Don’t Miss

Win a Samsung C6625!

Reg Lucky Draw Windows Mobile handsets up for grabs

Palm_Pre_001_SMIs your cameraphone an oxymoron?

Pic Review iPhone 3G v iPhone 3GS v Palm Pre

Reg black vulture logoReg Mobile and Wireless newsletter is go! go! go!

Site news Email-tasm

Sign up, sign up for The Register IT security newsletter

Narrowcasting for the email classes