The Register® — Biting the hand that feeds IT

Netnames whois Wednesday humour

It's a bit of fun

Understand how application security is evolving

Netnames' whois server is doing funny things to your favourite computer companies. Run a search on its site for, say, AOL.com, and you'll find a list of interesting abuse where server names should be.

One example: "AOL.COM.SHOULD.BE.ZAPPED.BY.THE.DEPARTMENTOFJUSTICE.NET".

We did some other searches, starting, naturally with Microsoft.

MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SECRETLY.RUN.BY.ILLUMINATI.TERRORISTS.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOTHING.BUT.A.MONSTER.ORG

Time Warner?

TIMEWARNER.COM.SHOULD.QUIT.BENDING.OVER.AND.FUCKAOL.ORG

Apple?

APPLE.COM.IS.THE.CHOICE.OF.ALL.SELF.RESPECTING.TERRORISTS.NET

We are still looking about, but this is all we have found so far.

But while this is all good stuff, we can't help shake the feeling that a grand opportunity has been wasted. So please send us suggestions on what you think would be funnier - we'll run them in readers' letters or something.

The threads are merely sub-domains of other
legitmate domains. i.e. monster.org owns the sub-domain microsoft.com. So if you fancy putting up your own, now you know how.

Incidentally, the header in the source code reads "File add_serv.html is for provide to registated users some new services, such not accessable for not registrate users." It would seem that Netnames is unable to spell registated or accessable propearly. They must be illeterate.

Related link

Netnames.com (search box in the middle at the top)

Related Story

MS 'hacked' by - 'illuminati terrorists,' this time

Understand how application security is evolving

Don’t Miss

Win a Samsung C6625!

Reg Lucky Draw Windows Mobile handsets up for grabs

Palm_Pre_001_SMIs your cameraphone an oxymoron?

Pic Review iPhone 3G v iPhone 3GS v Palm Pre

Reg black vulture logoReg Mobile and Wireless newsletter is go! go! go!

Site news Email-tasm

Sign up, sign up for The Register IT security newsletter

Narrowcasting for the email classes